Subscribe to the Blunt Force Truth podcast

Here Are The Republican Senators Who Voted for the Mueller Coup Bill

This isn’t just an attack on Trump. It’s an attack on the Constitution.

4 Republican senators voted to protect the Clinton-Mueller coup effort. The bill would prevent Mueller or a special prosecutor from being fired without, effectively, the approval, passive or active, of a Federal judge.

With every committee Democrat backing the legislation, only one Republican was needed to secure passage.

But they got four.

In the end, four Republicans voted for the bill: Sens. Thom Tillis (N.C.), Lindsey Graham(S.C.), Chuck Grassley (Iowa) and Jeff Flake (Ariz.).

Republican Sens. Orrin Hatch (Utah), Mike Lee (Utah), John Cornyn (Texas), Mike Crapo(Idaho), Ben Sasse (Neb.), John Kennedy (La.) and Ted Cruz (Texas) opposed it.

Here’s the major split between Republicans.

The bill, sponsored by Tillis and Graham (R-S.C.) with Sens. Cory Booker (D-N.J.) and Christopher Coons (D-Del.), would codify Department of Justice regulations that say only a senior Department of Justice official can fire Mueller or another special counsel.

It would give a special counsel an “expedited review” of their firing. If a court determines that it wasn’t for “good cause,” the special counsel would be reinstated.

And we’ve already seen federal courts playing this game before. The latest DACA ruling among them. It amounts to giving federal judges the power to keep a special counsel going indefinitely.



Want more BFT? Leave us a voicemail on our page or follow us on Twitter @BFT_Podcast and Facebook @BluntForceTruthPodcast. We want to hear from you! There’s no better place to get the #BluntForceTruth.