Subscribe to the Blunt Force Truth podcast

Twenty Republicans Join Every Single Democrat in Confirming Merrick Garland as Attorney General

The US Senate has confirmed Merrick Garland as attorney general by a 70-30 vote. Twenty Republicans voted to confirm Garland along with every Democrat.

The vote took place Wednesday and Garland is now the United States’ chief law officer.

Here are the twenty Republican senators who voted to confirm Garland, in alphabetical order by last name:

  1. Roy Blunt (MO)
  2. Richard Burr (NC)
  3. Shelley Capito (WV)
  4. Bill Cassidy (LA)
  5. Susan Collins (ME)
  6. John Cornyn (TX)
  7. Joni Ernst (IA)
  8. Lindsey Graham (SC)
  9. Chuck Grassley (IA)
  10. Jim Inhofe (OK)
  11. Ron Johnson (WI)
  12. James Lankford (OK)
  13. Mitch McConnell (KY)
  14. Jerry Moran (KS)
  15. Lisa Murkowski (AK)
  16. Rob Portman (OH)
  17. Mitt Romney (UT)
  18. Mike Rounds (SD)
  19. John Thune (SD)
  20. Thom Tillis (NC)

Notable GOP senators who voted against Garland’s confirmation included Tom Cotton, Ted Cruz, Josh Hawley, Mike Lee, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Ben Sasse, Rick Scott, Tim Scott, Pat Toomey, and Tommy Tuberville. Nineteen more joined them to vote “nay” as well.

Read the full story from Big League Politics

Want more BFT? Leave us a voicemail on our page or follow us on Twitter @BFT_Podcast and Facebook @BluntForceTruthPodcast. We want to hear from you! There’s no better place to get the #BluntForceTruth.